Olathe NEA Bargaining Team Members

Kathy Meyer, President
Jenna Kuder, IRC
Mike McLaughlin, Olathe West
Leigh Anne Rogers, Forest View
Brad Hankins, Olathe North
Karen Bishop, Mission Trail


 Professional Council

The Professional Council is made up of six teachers and six administrators. The Council subscribes to an interest-based bargaining model.

What is our philosophy?

Olathe NEA and Olathe Public Schools have a long history of working collaboratively. The number one focus of the Council is quality education for our students as a result of a quality, professional staff.

What are Professional Council’s accomplishments?

  • Compensation
  • Professional Pay Salary Schedule providing higher career earnings, a more professional compensation structure and greater retention and recruitment of quality staff.
  • Exchange of accumulated leave upon KPERS retirement for monetary contribution into retiree’s Health Reimbursement Arrangement account.
  • Health insurance—controlling rate increases while implementing discounts for wellness
  • Working Conditions
  • Increased Elementary Plan Time
  • Collaborative Role between principals and Olathe NEA association representatives.
  • Continuous support for the Staff/Board Guiding Principles and the board-adopted decision-making model.
  • Student Learning
  • Increased educator quality through professional growth process and professional development
  • Rewarding improvement in professional practice through salary schedule advancement using professional development points.
  • Negotiated BLT Approved Stipends to support school improvement activities